MRCC Awards for ProCycling’s Vuelta a Miami ’17


In true bike race fashion, we’ve decided to award the riders that stood out the most on this past weekend’s race. These “awards” are not sponsored nor part of the race, they’re just our subjective observations and opinions of how the race went. We’ve broken the awards down to four categories. Most Aggressive, Most Combative, the Man of the Day and Best Team Tactics.

The Most Combative award goes to Xavi Santana riding for Team Amino Rip. Xavi made the first attack of the day on what was basically a solo attack, and he established a large lead on the field.

Santana is the Puerto Rican TT Elite National Champ, so going off the front on a big sustainable power effort is his speciality. After a three-man chase caught up to him, he stayed with the four-man break for about 50 miles of the race.

The Most Aggressive award goes to Jake Sylverberg riding for D-Proffessional. Jake had a teammate, Andres Alayon, up on the initial breakaway and right before the half-way point of the race Andres dropped back to the main field. At this point Jake attacked and got on the breakaway group.

When the first break got caught, Jake went out on a solo attack, after he got caught by the group he initiated yet another attack this time with David Guttenplan of the SCS/SS team. Those two eventually stayed out and made it to the line together.

That brings us to our Man of the Day award, which goes to race winner David Guttenplan, after doing some work in the main field to bring the break back.

He went on the attack with Jake Sylverberg and had the legs at the end to take the sprint, which is his specialty.

Last award is Best Team Tactics, and that award has to go to D-Proffesional, which had a rider in all the winning moves of the day. Initially with Andres Alayon, then Jake Sylverberg and even at the end of the race they had Jose Armas in the chase group in the event that the Silverberg/Guttenplan duo breakaway got caught.

Vuelta a Miami ’17 presented by Pro Cycling Miami did not disappoint and we’re already looking forward to next year’s race.

Previous Pro Cycling Vuelta a Miami '17 Race Coverage
Next The bike: Rush Racing's Fabian Garcia & Ivan Castillo